ALTAVIA | Comme Un Seul Homme

Follow the Vendée Globe

VEN­DÉE GLOBE

1 BOAT, 14 SPONSORS
AND 80 000 CREWMEN

Next challenge Vendée Globe: talk about the wealth of difference and board everyone from the general public with us to change the society’s mind
about difference

Yes, Difference
is a strength
that should be developed

Altavia is a sponsor of the project COMMEUNSEULHOMME (French expression meaning “Stand As One”), carried by Eric Bellion in order to promote difference.

Since the very first moment we met Eric Bellion, we knew that we were sharing a common vision of success: yes, difference is a strength that should be developed…

Learn More

The boat and its challenges

COMMEUNSEULHOMME Boat

Eric’s boat is an IMOCA 60 (International Monohull Open Class Association)… "A what?". An IMOCA 60! It is a monohull designed to be sailed alone, 60 feet-long, a little more than 18 meters, the mast height to 27 m (i.e. a 9-story building), weighing around 8 tons (more than an elephant!), with a sail area of up to nearly 600 square meters.

The boat is a true concentrate of engineering and cutting-edge technology, equipped with autopilots so sophisticated that they steer better than the skipper… Almost better… Its distinctive feature is to have a keel that swings and ballasts (tanks filled with sea water) to increase its power and two drifts or twin rudders.

Life onboard

Well… This is very far from Jay Z and Beyonce’s yacht!

No kitchen, but a mini stove, no berth, but a simple poof ball, no toilet, but a bucket, no running water, but baby wipes, no closets, but numbered bags lugged from one side to the other... and finally a ‘wall’ lined with electronics controlled by a laptop! All this to say that if you are looking for comfort, do not chose an IMOCA for your world Tour…

Life onboard

The Race

Vendée Globe

Starting November 6, 2016
Vendée Globe, is the reference race, often referred to as the Everest of the seas.

"The Everest? Isn’t it too much?"
Not at all! Some could even say that climbing the Everest is the Vendée Globe of mountain climbing! It is just the biggest sailing challenge. Just imagine… A single-handed world tour, without stopovers or assistance, 3 months alone at sea in extreme conditions: boats depart from Les Sables d’Olonne, sail towards the South of the Atlantic, cross the equator, sail in tropical zones and their alternating calms and violent squalls, circle Antarctica, pass the legendary and fearsome Cape of Good Hope, avoid icebergs, then sail the Atlantic to get back to their starting point… What an adventure! Just finishing the race is a victory in itself.

This race gets the largest media coverage and attracts a massive audience. It certainly is the most fascinating race, from the competitive and human point of view.

Vendée Globe is the climax of ALTAVIA/COMMEUNSEULHOMME, during which Eric Bellion will race for our values of better living together and human diversity.

Discover the race

Haut de page

Vendée Globe 2016 :
voir le tracking de la course

VEN­DÉE GLOBE

1 BATEAU,
14 ENTREPRISES MÉCÈNES
ET 80 000 ÉQUIPIERS

Objectif Vendée Globe : parler de la richesse de la différence
et embarquer le grand public pour changer les consciences !

Oui, la différence
est une force
qu’il faut cultiver

Altavia s’engage comme mécène du projet COMMEUNSEULHOMME, porté par Eric Bellion pour promouvoir la différence.

Dès le premier instant de notre rencontre avec Éric Bellion, nous avons su que nous partagions une même vision de la réussite : oui, la différence est une force qu’il faut cultiver…

En savoir plus

Le bateau et ses défis

Le bateau COMMEUNSEULHOMME

Le bateau d’Éric est un IMOCA 60 (International Monohull Open Class Association)… « Un quoi ? » Un IMOCA 60 ! Il s’agit de voiliers monocoques conçus pour être menés en solitaire, mesurant 60 pieds de long, soit un peu plus de 18 mètres, pour un mât de plus de 27 mètres (soit un immeuble de 9 étages), pesant environ 8,5 tonnes (plus qu’un éléphant !) et portant jusqu’à 600 m2 de voilure !

Concentré d’ingénierie et de nouvelles technologies, il est équipé de pilotes automatiques si sophistiqués qu’ils barrent mieux que le skipper… ou presque ! La particularité du bateau COMMEUNSEULHOMME est de posséder une quille qui bascule et des ballasts (cuves remplies d’eau de mer) permettant d’augmenter sa puissance, ainsi que deux dérives ou encore deux safrans.

« Et la vie à bord ? »

Comment dire ?... On est très loin du yacht de Jay Z et Beyonce !

Pas de cuisine, mais un mini-réchaud de montagne, pas de couchette mais un simple pouf à billes, pas de WC mais un seau, pas d’eau courante mais des lingettes bébé, pas de penderies mais des sacs numérotés qu’on trimballe d’un bord sur l’autre… et un « mur » tapissé d’électronique piloté par un ordinateur portable ! Autant dire qu’on ne fait pas un tour du monde à bord d’un IMOCA pour le confort…

« Et la vie à bord ? »

La course

Le Vendée Globe

À partir du 6 novembre 2016
Le Vendée Globe, c’est LA course référence, celle que les « voileux » appellent l’Everest des mers.

« L’Everest ? N’est-ce pas exagéré ? »
Non, vraiment pas ! Il y en a même qui pourraient vous dire que l’ascension de l’Everest, c’est le Vendée Globe de l’alpinisme ! C’est tout simplement le plus grand défi possible à la voile. Imaginez… Un tour du monde en solitaire, sans escale, sans assistance. 3 mois seul en mer dans des conditions souvent extrêmes : les bateaux partent des Sables-d’Olonne, doivent naviguer vers le Sud de l’Atlantique, passer l’équateur, les zones tropicales et leurs aléatoires calmes plats et grains violents, faire le tour de l’Antarctique, passer au large du légendaire et funeste Cap Horn, éviter des icebergs, passer au large du cap de Bonne-Espérance, puis remonter l’Atlantique pour retourner à leur point de départ… Une sacrée aventure ! Qu’il est déjà exceptionnel de terminer.

Il s’agit de la course la plus médiatisée, la plus suivie… Et certainement la plus passionnante humainement et sportivement.

Le Vendée Globe est l’apogée du projet ALTAVIA / COMMEUNSEULHOMME, au cours duquel Éric Bellion portera haut nos valeurs du mieux-vivre ensemble et de la diversité humaine.

Découvrir la course

Haut de page